Star Awards Year 9 & 10 Celebrations 2016


Pride in academic progress and achievement was celebrated at the Newquay Tretherras Star Awards for Year 9 and 10 students on 6th July.

Over 80 students were acknowledged for their achievements and progress in subjects, as well as special awards presented to individuals who were exceptional in other ways.

The Head Boy and Head Girl, Vincenzo Emmanuel-Thomas and Karriad Shawcross, hosted the ceremony whilst Head of Year 9, Mr Carter and Head of Year 10, Ms Ollerenshaw presented awards.

Mr Higginson, Senior Assistant Headteacher, who is Leader of NT Senior Academy Phase Two (Year 10 and 11), opened the evening speeches and spoke of how proud students, in front of their peers and families, should feel to be recognised for their ‘I can attitude’.

Mr Higginson stated, “Do not hide behind your success. Be modest by all means and respectful of others around you, but if you are the best at something or making the most progress be proud of that yourself and use it to motivate you further. It is ‘cool to succeed’. Congratulations to all of you on your awards this evening and I am looking forward to September to continue to work with you on your successful GCSE journey.”

Year 9 and 10 students were awarded for Best Progress, Best Achievement and Best Overall Achievement in 36 different subjects.

The overall individual Year 9 winners accepted their awards from their Head of Year Mr Carter and Headteacher at Newquay Tretherras Mrs Fairbairn.

The winners of the Year 9 Outstanding Contribution Awards were Gerran Hawkey and Ella Owen.

The NT Outdoor Learning Award went to Jack Griffin.

The Year 9 Highest Academic Achievement Award 2015/16 was won by Erin Burt.

Ms Ollerenshaw presented the Year 10 overall individual winners with Headteacher Mrs Fairbairn.

The Year 10 Outstanding Contribution Awards were won by Molly Burrough and Katie Young.

The Sports Leader 2015/16 Award went to Morgan Sale.

The Young Enterprise 2015/16 Award was given to Tabea Niethus, Alex Timpson, Kai Pettifer and Charlotte Lewis.

The Duke of Edinburgh Award was won by Ben Bucknell.

The Inspirational Award 2016 was won by Joe Greaves for his commitment to his studies whilst representing his country in sport.

The Year 10 Highest Academic Achievement Award 2015/16 was won by Ella Thomas.

The Head Teachers award was won by Caitlin Guest.

Mrs Fairbairn concluded the evening by congratulating the students and encouraging them to continue their enthusiasm and spirit for learning.

Mrs Fairbairn commented, “You have shown great determination in learning and it has brought you fantastic rewards, you have represented yourself to the best of your abilities and become role models for your peers. We hope you build on this success in the future. Congratulations to you all.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>