KS4 Awards 2015


Newquay Tretherras held its annual ceremony celebrating KS4 students’ achievements at The Atlantic Hotel on 20th July.

The event celebrates students’ achievements and progress in all subjects as well as presenting special awards to students who have excelled in their school life at Newquay Tretherras so far.

The evening’s proceedings were led by Head Boy and Head Girl, Luke Hawkey and Lowenna Hawkey, whilst former students, Kyle Maywood and Jen George along with Associate Headteacher Mrs Samantha Fairbairn and Head’s of Year, Mrs Sue Ollerenshaw and Mrs Alison Thomas, presented prizes and addressed the packed audience.

Jen George imparted knowledge and spoke of the immense support and incredible opportunities she experienced whilst at Tretherras. ”Just say yes to all the opportunities on offer to you at school. You will learn better from all of the fun experiences you will have.”

Kyle Maywood, who has been an Outdoor Learning Apprentice at Newquay Tretherras encouraged students to find what they believe in and peruse it. Kyle stated, ”Find what you love, strive to be better, remember the people you have around you and never to sit on your laurels. You’ve done fantastic tonight. Make sure you keep going!”

The Year 9 Outstanding Contribution Award was awarded to Harry Trotter. Mrs Sue Ollerenshaw commented on how his organisation and selfless support to all students in Year 9 and over the past 3 years made him a deserving winner.

Luke Ball and Sam Casey won the Year 10 Outstanding Contribution Award. Mrs Alison Thomas, their Head of Year, remarked on how the collection of activities both students have been involved in have been valuable in supporting many students through the year.

Rachel Millington, Emma Chamberlain, Nico Robinson, Keenun Crook, Emily Clarke and Morgan Wallace won the Young Enterprise Award for their commitment and going ‘above and beyond’ in the process.


The Headteacher’s Award was presented to Will Grande for all his work fundraising over £2000 for the typhoon appeal and the Inspirational Award 2015 went to Rachel Millington for her relentless involvement in the creative arts.


The final accolades of the evening where for the Highest Academic Achievements in Year 9 and Year 10. Associate Headteacher Mrs Samantha Fairbairn explained how these awards are awarded to students who were consistently hard working and extremely dedicated. Morgan Sale won the Year 9 Highest Academic Achievement 2014/15 having accomplished Grade 1’s in every subject since Year 7. Tia Wright won the Year 9 Highest Academic Achievement 2014/15 for always striving for excellence and always achieving it.


Mrs Fairbairn concluded the evening by thanking everyone who contributed to the successful celebration by stating ”I would like to thank everyone who has come along tonight and shared in the celebration of Newquay Tretherras students collecting their awards tonight. It has been an immense pleasure to see all your hard work and incredible talent being rewarded.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>