Newquay Tretherras Governing Body Developments for 2013

Newquay Tretherras Governing Body has recently elected Mrs Sarah Karkeek as its new Chair of Governors. As part of the annual election process Mrs Karkeek has succeeded Mr Richard Simeons who has served as Chair of Governors since October 2001.

Mr Richard Simeons remains on the School Governing Body and continues to fully support the school. Mr Simeons’ financial expertise, knowledge of the school’s history and involvement in the local community has proved invaluable. Over the years Mr Simeons has overseen many successful projects, amongst the more recent, the development of the Sixth Form building that now attracts a record number of students.

Dr Phil Bunt, another stalwart of Newquay Tretherras Governors for many years, has announced his intended retirement to take effect at the end of this academic year. Dr Bunt is looking forward to spending more time with his wife and family but will continue to support the school in its exciting developments. Mrs Sarah Karkeek commented, “On behalf of Newquay Tretherras, I wish to thank Richard and Phil for all they have done, and continue to do for Newquay Tretherras. Richard has never shirked his responsibilities as Chair of Governors and has always led from the front over the years.” Mrs Sarah Karkeek has been a teacher at the academy and was welcomed onto the governing body in 2005.

Mrs Karkeek has many strong links with the local primary school network, which Tretherras aims to extend and build upon. Mrs Karkeek added, “We now look forward to building on our past successes and ensuring that Newquay Tretherras continues to thrive and develop, offering the best possible opportunities and support for our students and their families.”


Any enquiries should be directed to Marco Danieli, the Press Officer at Newquay Tretherras School, on 01637 872080 or via email on